Forest Friends Five Senses

photo-31

Ok, so I have to be the worst blogger in the history of blogging, but hey life gets busy sometimes! I recently moved to the Tampa area, and have been working my tail off trying to get acquainted with a new school district, and the ever changing demands of the Common Core. Yeah, yeah I know excuses, excuses, but better late than never.
On Friday we did our final review of the five senses. I have this adorable book called, Forest Friends Five Senses by Cristina Garelli. Each forest animal is having a problem with one of his/her senses, and has to go to the doctor to solve their dilemma. This was a great way for us to practice our skill, “LACC.K.RL.1.3: With prompting and support, identify characters, settings, and major events in a story.” We created a chart of characters, problems and solution. I am a terrible artist, particularly horrible at drawing animals. (They all tend to look like a teddy bear) So I enlisted the help of google image search for my clip art. For our reader’s response, the kids all picked one character and wrote about which sense was troubling them.

Leave a comment