Snowy Day: Day 2

photo

Every Friday, when my students have made good choices all week, I like to reward them with a Fun Friday. Today we decided to have a school Snow Day for our Fun Friday. It went along with our theme weather, and was full of fun engaging games that helped us review our high frequency words/sight words. We started the day by covering our desks with shaving cream. I let the students play with the shaving cream for a little while first then I put up on the big screen a PowerPoint I made called, “It’s Snowing Sight Words!”. (Freebie Available at: http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Snowing-Sight-Words ) Each time a new snowflake fell the students had to write their word in the snow (Top right picture). We reviewed all of the words we have covered this year, and introduced our new words for next week. The kids couldn’t believe I let them make a mess, (usually I’m pretty OCD aboout keeping our students and room clean) and I didn’t have the heart to tell them that the shaving cream actually cleans our tables! Once we got our Snowing Sight Words activity all cleaned up we made our snowman snack (top left). This was something I adapted from a Pinterest picture I saw. The store was out of regular sized powdered donuts so I improvised. I bought Sour Creme Glazed Donuts from Walmart and a can of whipped cream for the snowman’s head, chocolate chips for his eyes and mouth, and a cheeseball for the nose. The whipped cream was actually fun because it kind of melted if they touched it so we talked about our body heat melting the snowman. After snack, it was time for our main event, our Snowball Fight! I wrote all of our sight words on a scrap of white paper and crumpled it up. I gave each student a snowball and told them while the music was playing they could nicely throw the snowballs at each other. When the music stopped, they grabbed the closest snowball and ice skated (walked) to their seat. I went around table to table and told the kids to to open up their snowball and read the word, if they could read the word they crumpled it back up and were still in the game. If they could not read their word they gave me their snowball and helped me referee the game from their seat. The final person who could read their word won, and we started all over again.
Since the snowball fight was so engaging, and the kids did such a great job following the rules, I told them we would have a snowball fight for math too. I got the idea from http://goldengangkindergarten.blogspot.com/ to have 10 snowballs and do combinations to 10. I divided my class in half and let them throw the snowballs back and forth until the music stopped. When it stopped we counted how many snowballs each team had, and recorded it. We went until all of the combinations to 10 had been made.
All in all it was a pretty awesome Friday! :o)

3 thoughts on “Snowy Day: Day 2

Leave a Reply

